Singapore Prize, NUS History Prize and NUS Literature Prize

singapore prize

The Singapore Prize recognises local fiction and non-fiction works that champion mindsets important in shaping the nation, such as diversity, religious harmony, meritocracy and resilience. It is also a platform for authors to share their stories of hope and resilience with the world.

This year, the top winner received an engraved trophy and $10,000, while two special honourees were given an AUD$3,000 cash prize and a trophie each. Minister for Culture, Community and Youth Edwin Tong, who was the guest of honour, presented the awards to winners and finalists. He also awarded the Readers’ Favourite titles, determined by public vote – Ali bin Salim, Daryl Qilin Yam, Pan Cheng Lui and Rama Suresh won the top four awards in each of the Chinese and English categories.

A total of 139 books were submitted by 27 publishers this year for the competition. The judges included National Library Board assistant chief executive Gene Tan, book editor and former Books Kinokuniya Asia-Pacific senior store and merchandising director Triena Noeline Ong; Pustaka Nasional publisher Syed Ali Ahmad Semait; Casco Publications business director Kathy Low; and Taylor & Francis senior publisher Katie Peace.

The Singapore Literature Prize, founded in 1992 and operating across four languages, has chosen the theme “resonance” for this year’s edition of the contest. This theme aims to explore how literature can trigger emotions and memories in readers. It also highlights the importance of resonance as a tool for readers to engage with their environment and communities.

NUS History Prize

The NUS Singapore History Prize, which was created in 2014, celebrates works that explore important aspects of the country’s past. This year, the award has broadened its definition of what constitutes a history book to include writings from various perspectives and themes related to Singapore’s heritage.

NUS also launched the Deborah Rogers writers’ award in 2015, to support unpublished authors as they work on their first book. This year, the inaugural winner was Sharlene Wen-Ning Teo for her debut novel Ponti, which Ian McEwan praised as “a remarkable first novel in the making”.

In 2023, the Singapore Design Innovation Guild will launch a new awards programme to honour innovative projects in the interior design sector. The new accolades will be a part of the WAFX 2023 curated by Vogue Singapore and BMW, and will be held alongside the Inside World Festival of Interiors.

The Vogue Singapore x BMW Innovation Prize is open to fashion and beauty start-ups in ASEAN who are leveraging technology and driving change for good. The shortlisted candidates will be provided with exclusive access to a four-week boot camp, comprising mentorship sessions from a global pool of experts hand-picked by Vogue Singapore. They will gain practical knowledge in the areas of digital innovation, creative direction, brand storytelling and more. Click here for more information. The application deadline is 31 October.