The Sidney Prize and the Hillman, Neilma and Stuart Rosewarne Prizes

The Sydney Prize is an award that honors individuals who have achieved significant goals in their careers and made a positive contribution to society. Winners of the prize receive large sums of money that they can use to further their studies or promote scientific knowledge among the general population. The prize is awarded annually and the amounts are listed below. The prizes are offered in a variety of categories, including science, business, and arts and culture.

The prize was established in honour of Sidney Hook (1902-1989), a distinguished American philosopher, Phi Beta Kappa member and leader in the cause of liberal arts education. This prestigious award is presented to a single scholar nationally who has achieved distinction in the areas of scholarship, undergraduate teaching, and leadership in promoting the work of Phi Beta Kappa and its ideals. Nominations are announced a year and a half prior to the Triennial Council Meeting in The Key Reporter, the General Newsletter and social media.

Founded in 1997 and supported by the Malcolm Robertson Foundation, the Overland Neilma Sidney Short Story Prize celebrates outstanding original short fiction inspired by travel. Each year a panel of judges, comprising Laura Elvery, Paige Clark and Michael Winkler, selects a winning piece and two runners-up from submissions. The winner receives $5000 and publication in Overland, while the runners-up will each be published online.

Each year, the Hillman Foundation awards a prize to journalists who illuminate some of our greatest issues through deeply-reported, socially-conscious journalism that fosters social and economic justice. The prize carries on the legacy of Sidney Hillman, President of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America and founder of the Congress of Industrial Organizations, who fought for a “better America.” Since 1950, the foundation has carried on Hillman’s vision by honoring journalists who strive to fulfill the fundamental responsibilities of a free press.

The Stuart Rosewarne Prize in Political Economy is awarded for publicly-engaged research that addresses systemic processes of social exclusion and resistance. The prize reflects Stuart Rosewarne’s commitment to progressive causes and his deep interest in the role of the humanities in understanding such processes. The prize is open to students working on a Masters by Research or PhD in the Department of Political Economy who have produced a research thesis that best exemplifies this approach. Eligibility is determined by the Department’s academic staff. Students who currently hold a Postgraduate Research Scholarship from the University that provides a stipend allowance are ineligible for this award.